Why I Run

why i run

I love giving my body the challenge to overcome and do something hard.

I love becoming better than I was yesterday.

I love how it is therapeutic and serves as a physical, emotional and spiritual outlet- giving me a chance to release endorphins, process situations and gain clarity as I talk to God.

I love the feeling of finishing strong and sprinting at the end, despite about any pain or desire to stop.

I love that I can do it with my little girl.

I love how I feel more alive and in tune with my body afterwards.

I love how powerful I feel when I run.

I love the sense of accomplishment that comes from pushing past my limits.

I love the runner’s high.

I love that room for growth and improvement has no boundaries.

I love being soaked with sweat, knowing I just worked my butt off.

I love the experiencing the elements- the rain dripping of my face, the wind in my hair, the sun warming my skin.

I love that it provides a community and opens door to friendships.

I love that it inspires me to encourage and lift up others.

I love the opportunities it provides for making memories with loved ones.

I love that it has put me in the best shape I’ve ever been in.

I love knowing that I am propelling myself forward by nothing more than the muscular strength of my legs, the solid will in my heart, and the determined voice in my head.

I love that through running I have taught myself that I can do anything I put my mind to.

That is why I run.

Goals:

  1. Train consistently for a half marathon so I can be ready to do one at any time
  2. Run a full marathon between each child (if not more)
  3. Qualify for Boston someday
  4. Travel the country doing races and relays
  5. Run races with my sister Truly until we are old and gray… and then keep running races

doingitdarling

Leave a Reply

