My Jillian Michaels Success Story: Passion For Fitness

There I was in the shower sitting down naked and throwing up. I could only stand up long enough to get shampoo in my hand and then I had to sit down to lather it up before I felt like I was going to ralph again. It had taken me 45 minutes to get off my sweaty, nauseated self off of the couch and crawl down the hall to the bathroom. Why? I had just done a Jillian Michaels cardio DVD and it had kicked my post-baby bootay!

prego before
The day after I had my baby

I was out of shape. I hadn’t exercised since I was 6 months pregnant, not to mention I spent my entire pregnancy working 8 hours a day in an office chair. I knew that fitness was no mystery. I had to eat healthy foods and exercise consistently. I had always enjoyed being active, but I hadn’t had the habit of being consistent and always pushing myself beyond my limits. When we were deciding to get pregnant, I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to lose the weight afterwards. However, my husband being the wise man he is reminded me that I was in control of my body and if I wanted something and worked hard enough- I could get it. I never forgot that and it helped me fight through the post-baby months.

I rented Jillian Michaels DVDs at the library to try out. I had actually never seen The Biggest Loser (just heard of it).  The first workout I did was really really TOUGH and I immediately knew that I could depend on Jillian to get my sexy back. I needed tough, I needed a challenge to overcome and boy did that woman BRING IT. I asked for all of her videos for Christmas that year and ended up with a library of Jillian. At first I couldn’t even finish some DVDs because I would start to feel sick so I would just do half of the workouts sometimes. Eventually it got more doable as I kept doing them every week (3-5 times). It wasn’t ever “easy” but I could finish the DVDs. Then came the point when I could do every exercise as fast and full-out as Jillian was. I even increased my dumbbell sizes to more than she was lifting. I was making myself strong!

abs

I started being excited to totally rock those work-outs and felt unstoppable afterwards. I stopped calling it “working out” and called it “hanging out with Jillian.” I felt like a super-woman and especially super-mom. I was getting a 6-pack, buff biceps and rock hard quads. I was so proud that I was fighting for fitness after having a baby and sacrificing to make workouts happen. I lost inches and went down 2 pant sizes. People around me started noticing the change in my body and asked what I was doing.  I always gave my full testimonial about what Jillian could do for people. My sister even started calling me “Jillian.”

When I combined Jillian’s workouts with a whole food-plant based diet, I went down 10 additional pounds from my pre-baby weight. I felt so in shape that I trained for and completed my first full marathon this year! Even though I did drill team, dance company, and track in high school, I now weigh less than I did my junior year and am more toned than I have ever been.

To think I’ve come from throwing up after workouts (and crawling around like I was going to die) to conquering them daily and being able to finish a marathon??? Talk about a journey. I’ve learned so much over the last two years. I know that I am a strong woman and I am in control of my body. And if I am consistent I am capable of overcoming and achieving anything.

before and after face

before and after

By fighting for fitness, my passion for fitness has been born.

Thank you for making me a fitness warrior Jillian!!

signature1

4 thoughts on “My Jillian Michaels Success Story: Passion For Fitness

  1. Wow! You’ve always been my inspiration but now more than ever I”m going to rely on your example! Why? Once Baby #2 is born next month, I want to do the exact same thing and lose the pregnancy weight! Of course you’ve always been gorgeous and always will be but it feels so much better personally when you’re healthy and able to keep up with your daughter! Thanks for not only physically being an inspiration but spiritually as well! You are my hero!

    1. Steph! You are such a wonderful person. I love your enthusiasm for life and how you point out the best in other people. You are MY hero for that! And you’ll totally lose the weight girl! Just stick with it!

Leave a Reply

